My Dad, the Hipster.

I have always considered myself to be a pretty non-mainstream person when it comes to music. This is something that I attribute to my father. From the age of 8, I was listening to the likes of Arctic Monkeys, The Killers, MGMT and many more everyday on the car-ride to school. At the beginning I resented it. I thought the music was weird and nothing like anyone else was listening to. It annoyed me that my Dad wasn’t like the other Dads, who would listen to more popular music whenever I got lifts from them.

I can’t say exactly when it happened, but slowly I began to fall in love with the music he played. My appreciation for the music grew as I realised I never got sick of it no matter how many mornings I heard them playing, unlike a lot of the pop music which I soon got sick of, no matter how catchy it was. For a long time, I denied that I enjoyed the music he played so that I wouldn’t loose face due to all the times I had groaned and whined about the same songs in the past.

When the phrase became popular, I almost immediately spotted it. My Dad was a hipster.

Despite this, having a hipster Dad can be extremely annoying because something hipsters love to do (at least some of them) is complain about anything mainstream.

Although I do mostly like Indie music… but I also have my guilty pleasures… specifically Taylor Swift. However I couldn’t ever listen to her catchy music without the shame of her mainstreamity (A word of my own making. It’s a combination of mainstream and extremity) hanging over my head. I’d always keep my iPod’s screen facing down and hope that no one could hear what my earphones were playing.

So as much as I love the music my Dad introduced me to… his hipster ways.. not so much. So I have decided never to judge someone by the music they listen to. And hey maybe one day when I have children, I vow to never judge them for their taste in music… unless they choose to listen to Ariana Grande. They’ll be dead to me if they choose Grande.

Bye for now,

Georgie x

p.s. Sorry for the long wait. I’m not so great at keeping to a schedule.

Leave a comment